Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Education is what helps us to succeed in life.Education elevates us from others and facilitates our understanding of things around us. An educated person can differentiate the right from the wrong and would be cogent enough to make the right decision and not get influenced into malicious means.It becomes the responsibility of the educators to impart proper knowledge and means to learn it in a feasible way.I agree with the author that a student true assessment lies in the understanding of concepts and not just mugging things just for the sake of getting good grades in exams.

Firstly, the author’s statement can be closely related to the situations we face during schooling.In our schools we are generally taught in order to excel in exams.Therefore less emphasis is made on lucidly explaining the concepts and ideas and more time is given to finish the required syllabus.This hinders the students understanding of concepts and he/she also believes that in order to excel in exams they have to remember the facts associated with it rather than understanding them comprehensively.

Secondly,the matter of mugging things up in order to excel in exams could prove to have a detrimental effect on the students in a longer run. As in the longer run , our jobs are somehow depended on our grades,and hence some students perform unscrupulous means in order to achieve those grades like cheating or copying from others in exams.Hence this would indicate that a student with higher grade might have less knowledge as compared to another with a lower grade. For instance, consider a student X who has a 9 CGPA as oppose to another student Y with an 8 CGPA . The difference in both students is inconsequential yet significant when taught from an employer’s perspective.Yet it might turn out that the student Y might receive a much higher compensation in comparison to student X This indicates that in long term , it is the understanding/knowledge which helps a person to succeed and not grades in most scenarios.

However, there are some things which are to be remembered in order to understand them further.There are some subjects like history , geography and science to some extent which are fact driven.These facts are to be remembered in order to gain a comprehensive understanding of much complex concepts. For instance, in science in order to understand much complex concepts of relativity and gravity one has to know the fact that speed of light is 3x10^8 m/s and the value of gravitational force is 9.8 m/s^2.Similarly in history and geography when studying a particular region one should be aware of all the facts concerning the particular region. For instance , how suitable is the climate of this region? what is the demographic of this region? what is the growth in economy of this region ? and many other factors as such.

In conclusion,it is understanding of a concept which will help in a student in a longer run as opposed to learning the concept.A educated student must be able to comprehensive illustrate a idea or concept with respect to the nuanced facts associated with it.Therefore a student capability to excel must be decided on the understanding of a concept rather than the just learning it.