The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Culture is what defines a society.There are people with different cultures living in harmony all around the world.Every individual is defined by his personality which is shaped by his culture.I disagree with the author to a certain extent that the most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth , as most of today’s youth are not aware of the details of various cultural traditions followed by their own cultural community.

Firstly, with the advent of new technology and the changing modern conditions in order to survive these conditions and make a living most youth’s are away from their hometown and stay in metropolitan cities .These cities have a myriad of cultural influences which impact the youth , hence they are influenced by the cultural nuances of the majority of people that they hangout with. For instance , if a person from a small town in South India comes to Mumbai he might get influenced by the North Indian culture as most of his peers have descended from that part of India.

Moreover, this youth might also not have the idea about the cultural traditions been followed in their community as they live in the city where there is no single culture being followed.

Secondly,in a country like India which is a amalgamation of many different cultures.The cultural subtleties change within some kilometers. The culture which is predominant in a state might have various other cultural communities residing under the same native language.For instance, in a state like Maharashtra which predominantly consists of people of Maharashtrian culture speaking the Marathi language, there are still various community within the Maharashtrians like Brahmins , Kshatriyas which follow different traditions .Hence in order to understand these subtleties a more experienced adult must be consulted instead of youths.

However, the youths bring out some technological advancements in the anachronistic methods followed by various cultural communities . As some of these methods are not feasible enough in today’s day and age and also to reduce the complexity concerning the particular tradition. For instance , the age old tradition of arranged marriage in India where the bride and groom were married even though they did not know each other or had seen each other for that matter , but in today’s world even though arranged marriages are still a thing but various online websites and apps help in connecting these people through which they can judge if they are compatible or not before getting married. Having said that some ancient traditions are still followed the same way as before by many cultural communities.

In conclusion,the contemporary culture could be understood to some extent by the changes that are being made to the various ancient traditions by the youth.Although the nuances of any culture are more cogently understood when consulted with an experienced adult rather than youth .