A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is what helps us in building our personality.Education plays an important role in shaping an individual.An educated person is more cognizant in differentiating the right from wrong.A person makes a living out of the education and the things he/she studies. I agree with the author that same national curriculum should be imparted to all students until they enter college to build a strong foundational knowledge which will further help them choose a right career path.

Firstly,a student studying in school is not in the position of taking right decisions about his /her career. As if the same curriculum is not enforced upon all students and the students are given choice to choose their subjects , they will do so because all the others are choosing the same and then realize that this subject was not suitable for them and in turn miss on the knowledge from the subject in which they genuinely had an interest.For instance , if a student who is inclined towards arts is choosing science and mathematics just because all his other friends are doing so will end up not pursuing his interest in the developing stage of his life.Hence a proper amalgamation of all subjects must be included in the national curriculum and followed by all students.

Secondly,since the students will have a fundamental idea about all subjects it will provide them with a better understanding of subjects they would further like to pursue in college. As colleges provide a much in depth understanding of subjects, a student must have a keen interest in learning those otherwise he will find the whole curriculum as daunting as ever and would just study that for the sake of it.As without a fundamental understanding of a subject sometimes we think that we like a particular subject but then as we study it a bit in depth we find out that this is just not our cup of tea , this process can happen in school only which will help a student in choosing the right career track. For instance , if a student assumes that he will study computer science as it is a very lucrative career and has high prospects he might think of choosing this subject in college , but if the fundamentals are taught in school and then the student realises that he is not able to cope up with the programming of computers this will help him in analysing other choices of subjects to choose in college.

However,as far as some common subjects are concerned like Science ,Mathematics and English which have a much broader scope should be the same in all schools across the nation . Having said that the cultural nuances of every state come out in subjects like History , Geography and Civics which should be modified to some extent according to the area of context.A person living in a particular states must be aware of the historical conquests , geographical terrains and political journeys of the state they are residing in. For instance , a person living in the state of Maharashtra must be aware about the historic battles of Peshwas living in Maharashtra and also about the gigantic ranges of Sahyadris and Vindhyas running across the state than a person living in some other state.

In conclusion, a fundamental curriculum which covers all subjects with the level of difficulty of a school going student should be divised for the entire nation.As it would further help the student in choosing the right career path as illustrated above.Along with this every state must include the peculiar aspects of that state in order to develop a better understanding about past and the future of the place a person is residing in.