Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Education is the most important aspect in a person’s life.Education empowers the person to differentiate between right and wrong and to lead a better life.Hence it becomes the responsibility of the educators to teach in a way which simplifies complex concepts and facilitates better understanding.I disagree with the author as some facts are just fact , they do not help in developing a better understanding of the idea.Also some facts which do accompany the idea are subjective as it depends on the individual if he/she wants to study it or not.

Firstly, in today’s competitive world where everything is associated with some kind of exams. Every student tries to excel in those irrespective of the fact whether they are actually learning anything. They just briefly understand the idea and apply those to the concepts relevant to their exams.For instance, in mathematics everyone knows about the idea or concept of Pythagoras theorem. Once the formula of this theorem is explained to the student they will start applying it to their relevant questions. No student bothers the fact how it was discovered or the fact that how Pythagoras theorem is used in real life problems. They just want to learn the concept and get done with the exams.

Secondly,in fields like history and geography facts are usually not accompanied with any concept or ideas. They are just plain facts of past or the present world.These type of facts are not in conjunction with some logical concepts.For instance, if we consider the Eiffel tower . Historically it can be said that Eiffel Tower was built in some year.Geographically we can say that Eiffel Tower is in Paris.Both these facts are universally accepted. The idea on which the Eiffel tower was built is rarely known to a few people.

However, in the scientific and technological world to understand some facts one has to develop a cogent understanding of concepts , ideas and trends. As these concepts do build a foundation upon which the facts lie.For instance, in todays technological world it is a fact that most of the websites that we see are build on some kind of programming language like Java , Python,PHP to name a few.In order to build those websites one should have an in depth understanding of the concepts of these programming languages. The nuances of these languages should be known which would help in building something unique.

In conclusion, there are some fields in which plain facts are considered without understanding any concepts or ideas and some fields which require the understanding of concepts to better understand facts.The end goal is increasing knowledge which should be ensured in both cases.