The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit.

The author of this argument is concluding that the Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land which is now a part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve.To support his claim the author states that there are 300 bird species that live in this area which are essential to the survival of this sanctuary.To further support the argument he points out that the proposed development would have disastrous consequences for their sanctuary.The author surely believes that this proposed plan will bring harm to the society and hence this plan should not be developed further. This argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly,the fact that the author compares the survival of 300 species of birds in the sanctuary with the new proposed development is baseless. Nowhere does the author provide any evidence which states that the newly developed land will cause harm to any of these species of birds.The author should have provided us with some evidence which would point out that the new construction will somehow endanger the 300 existing species of birds. The failure of the author to provide us with this evidence weakens his argument.

Secondly,the author states that only a small percentage of land will be used by Smith Corporation. This point makes the authors argument weak instead of supporting it.The author hastily assumes that this new development will have disastrous consequences for their sanctuary. It is quite possible that , very little or no trees would have to be cut down to ensure the development of this new proposal.The author should consider a much holistic approach before arriving to such conclusion and if the environment is going to be harmed in any way the author should have provided us with the evidence for the same.

Finally,a new hotel is being proposed by the Smith Corporation with the assurance that they will take utmost care to prevent the sanctuary. The author neglects this factors of the proposal and declares that their plans will bring nothing but harm to the sanctuary.This new development could help in increasing the revenue for the sanctuary. As it is quite possible that there are no hotels in the vicinity of this newly proposed hotel. The generalization that the author makes that no tourist will be attracted towards this development or no that no benefit will come out of this proposal is preposterous.

In conclusion, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands.

To make the argument more persuasive the author should have provided us with the evidence of how the newly proposed hotel will endanger the existing 300 species of birds.The author should also provide us the evidence concerning damage to the environment if any.The author should also clearly state that how the newly developed proposal will bring harm to their community. Thus, the author’s inference about the biased methodology may not hold grounds due to the illogical and baseless assumptions made.