The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

The author of this argument is trying to favour Delany Personnel Firm as opposed to the financially cheaper Walsh Firm. The author favours Delany over Walsh by stating that last year people who chose Delany found jobs quickly as opposed to ones who did not.He further supports his argument by stating that 8 years ago when XYZ was using Walsh only half of the workers found jobs. Also author states that Delany is superior as it has bigger staff and more number of offices.Finally, the author concludes by saying that the average time for finding jobs was six months for Delany and nine for Walsh.The author’s argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions which render the argument unconvincing.

Firstly,the author states that Delany helped in creating resumes and developing interview skills.Also the author further states that the employees who took the services of Delany secured a job more quickly than the ones who did not.The assertion is dubious as the author nowhere states the nature of the job . For instance, the people who did not take the services of Delany might have secured a better job than the ones who were a part of Delany.Since the author only states that the people who opted for Delany got jobs quicker as it is quite possible that the others secured a much high paying job .The author should have provided us with evidence stating the nature of the jobs, the salary, its perks etc to give a much cogent picture of Delany’s services.

Secondly,the author takes support of the fact that eight years ago when their company was using the services of Walsh only half of the workers that they laid off found jobs in a year.This evidence does not help the author’s argument in any way as the situation the author is considering happened eight years ago .It is quite likely that the changing economic and socio-political conditions would render the same effect as Delany had today on XYZ.Moreover the author does not provide us with the amount of workers that secured the job, he only states that half of the workers secured job in one year. It is possible that this half constitutes to more people than the ones who used Delany’ services.

Last but not the least,the author states that Delany is superior to Walsh by stating that Delany has a bigger staff and more number of offices.The author also states that Delany’s clients took an average of six months to find a job as opposed to nine which Walsh clients took.It is quite likely that Walsh has a bigger success ratio as compared to Delany and has more competent employees as compared to Delany.Also the time period the author states might not be sufficient to prove that a company is more competent than another.For instance a person who secured a job in six months with Delany’s services has a pay of $70,000 in a year as opposed to Walsh candidate who took nine months to secure a job but has a pay of $1,00,000 a year. This would translate that Walsh candidate secured a better job even though he struggled more for it. Also the fact that Walsh is cheaper than Delany does more to oppose the author’s argument than to support it .

In conclusion, the author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons.To make his argument more persuasive the author should have provided us with evidence stating the nature of jobs both candidates from Delany and Walsh secured.He should not correlate things that happened eight years ago and the things that happen in the present . He should consider all other factors happening in the course of eight years before concluding that Delany is better than Walsh.