People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Man is a social animal.Every person makes decision based on his/her choice.These decisions may sometimes be driven by logic or sometimes by emotions.Both decisions which are either made by logic or emotion are not always correct. I disagree with the author where he assumes that all the decisions based on emotions which are justified with logic afterwards end up in being bad decisions which may not be true as some decisions may turn out even more coherent once paired up with logic.

Firstly,situation demands the type of decisions that we make. Some situations require us to make impulsive emotional decisions while in some we have time to analyse and make logical ones.Having said that the impulsive emotional ones when later thought upon with logic can turn out to be like a blessing in disguise.For instance, in a burgeoning family business initially a family member may be emotionally obliged to make a decision and join the business and later it may be found that the business is booming due to that member’s skillset this could prove fruitful to their entire family.

Secondly,some decisions taken emotionally which seem a bit illogical at first might turn out in our favour and might help us in building our career.People generally complete their education and start working and later on realise that their passion is in some other work. They follow their passion after on which may be seem like an emotional decision at first but later when logically taught this decision would have made him much more financially stable than his earlier working job.For instance , many people working in corporates after a point find their job to be very mundane in nature , and leave their job to follow their passion like stand up comedy or acting etc. This decision might be emotional and risky but later when logically planned the person could easily earn twice or thrice of what he was earning before and be happy with what they are doing.

However,in an official environment some business decisions are made in the spur of the moment or emotionally depending upon the relationship with the other person making the deal.For instance , if the person from the other company has made several successful deals with them, then this time without clearly analyzing them we would spuriously make the deal which could later have a deleterious impact on the company.Hence if the person later tries to prove this decision with any logic it still has no worth as it is proven wrong.

In sum, every decision made whether it is emotional or logical has some type of goal associated with it which one has to complete.The end result must be the completion of that goal , thus even if that decision is made based on emotion and then logically justified does not make it a poor decision as long as the goal is achieved.