When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

The author of this argument states that Stanley Park should add more benches to increase population of their park . To support this argument ,the author takes considers Carlton Park where number of people visiting the park is much higher than Stanley .Hence in order to make the park more sociable the author suggests than Stanley Park should increase their seating capacity by adding more benches. Nevertheless, on closer scrutiny, it is seen that the argument provides scant evidence that can prove the validity of the recommendation made.

Firstly,the author states that the video camera recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day to support his assertion of decreasing number of people.This assertion is specious as the author himself suggests than Stanley Park is still the largest park hence it is quite likely that the Park has multiple entrances and the camera was placed at an entrance which is much less populated than others. Since the author does not state the position of video cameras , his assumption is not germane to the matter of decreasing population.

Secondly,the author asserts that Carlton Park albeit smaller than Stanley , is much crowded than Stanley.The author himself states the possible reason of increase , as Carlton lies in the business district of the city it is much easier for people to travel to this park . The author does not provide us with any information regarding the location of Stanley Park , it might be that since it is the largest park it might be located in the outskirts of town and hence people might find Carlton to be more convenient as compared to Stanley.The failure of author to provide us with the whereabouts of Stanley Park weakens his argument.

Last but not the least,the author unfairly assumes that the decrease in people visiting Stanley Park is because of less number of benches. Carlton park which is much crowded than Stanley might be so because of myriad of different factors like a play area of children,a well maintained jogger’s track for adults etc. Also the author does not provide us with information regarding the entry fees if any to both parks. It is quite likely that Carlton Park is cheaper than Stanley because of smaller area.The author should have taken all other factors also into consideration besides adding more benches to increase the population in Stanley Park.

In conclusion, I would say that, the author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons.To make his argument more persuasive , the author must provide us with evidence stating the location of camera’s recording the average of 50 cars per day. He should also provide us with the location of Stanley Park and how feasible it is to reach there. Also the author should consider all factors and should just not stick to one while comparing both parks. Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts and evidences. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.