Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.

The given newsletter is trying to make a pitch to all the investor and asking them to invest in technocorporation.The author of this argument is trying to support the above stated pitch by saying that for the first time in ten years an FTA approved satellite is developed by the company to compete with other providers.To support the argument the author presents a consumer survey conducted last year in which he concludes that 80 percent of the customers would want to change their current satellite provider and choose a new one .This argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly,the point that the author is trying to make by stating that for the first time in ten years , technocorporation is the only one with an FTA approved satellite is quite specious.Since the company has now got the approval of FTA , it is quite likely that it still has some room for improvement . On the other hand looking at all their competitors who already have a working satellite would definitely have made some tweaks in their satellite to augment its functionality.The fact that the author does not provide any statistical evidence to compare how their FTA approved satellite is better than their competitors makes the argument dubious.

Secondly,the consumer survey that the author states where the customers are dissatisfied by their current satellite providers is spurious at best.The author bluntly states that eighty percent of the customers are dissatisfied without providing the total amount of people who participated in the survey .Also the author does not provide us with the age group in case of the survey , the survey should contain the point of view of youngsters as well as adults in order to make it more coherent. Hence the authors reliance on the survey without providing enough evidence makes the argument weak.

Finally, even if we consider that the customers are dissatisfied by the current provider ,then they could change their satellite provider to anyone but technocorporation. The author hastily assumes that all the customer would opt for technocorporation which is preposterous.Since we live in a competitive world , looking at the progress of technocorporation it might happen that the current providers as well as others would start providing additional benefits to the customers like addition of new channels , decreasing costs etc. The author overlooks the fact that other providers will up their game and not give away their customers.

In sum, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands.In order to make his argument more persuasive the author should provide the statistical evidence on how their satellite is better than their competitors and also provide the detailed analysis of the consumer survey depicting the total number of consumers as well as their age groups etc. Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidences or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.