Argument Topic: The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The author of this letter is suggesting the council to not build road in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg.The author supports his argument by taking help of the records which suggested that tufted groundhogs were once numbered in millions.He reinforces his claim by suggesting that a similar sanctuary saw a decline in their wildlife population once the sanctuary status was repealed. Thus in order to preserve West Lansburg's sanctuary status, the author claims that no road should be built. The author rests on a series of unsubstantiating assumptions, which render the argument unconvincing.

Firstly, the author is trying to compare the situation with a neighbouring sanctuary i.e Eastern Carpenteria where a similar construction activity caused a decline in sea otter population.However the author misses the fact that these two sanctuary might not share the same conditions like the area of land , the size , otter population and steps taken to preserve the sanctuary.Moreover the author should have mentioned some statistical evidence which shows some kind of similarity between the two sanctuaries. Since the author makes an analogy between two sanctuaries without taking the above factors into consideration his argument about not constructing roads becomes very weak .

Secondly,the author cites the population of groundhogs to be roughly around a million in 2004 and is worried whether the construction will lead to decrease in tufted groundhog population.The author is forgetting that the decrease in population could also be because of a myriad of other factors like improper environmental conditions, death ,hunting, sudden climate change.The development of roads is not a factor which is strong enough to prove the author point.

Finally, the regions biodiversity and healthy environment are also the points which author makes to support his argument.However,the regions biodiversity and healthy environment can be maintained by reducing deforestation and increasing greenary.This would make the wildlife flourish even more than before and make the air cleaner.The construction of road will make communication and transportation much easier for local people.The author should have supported this reasoning with some examples.

In sum,the author's evidence lends little credible support to his claim.In order to make his argument more persuasive he should provide us with statistical evidence which points out the similarity between the two sanctuaries. Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidences or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.