The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town-Adams Realty and Fitch Realty-Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

The author of this argument claims that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty. To support this claim the author cites certain statistics about the number and working hours of the firm’s agents, and the number and sales prices of homes sold by the two firms. The author also shares a small narrative involving his own experience with both Fitch and Adams. Careful examination of this evidence reveals that it lends little credibility for the author’s assertion.

Firstly, the author bases her claim on the fact that Adams has more agents than Fitch,and majority of whom work part time.However, this does not mean that Adam’s is more efficient than Fitch,it is entirely possible that a smaller firm is more effective than a larger one , as it is generally observed that smaller firm’s pay more attention to customers on an individual basis and that part time agent is more effective than a full time agent .Moreover, the author provides no information about the part time workers in Adams.

To further support her claim the author cites the fact that Adams sold more properties last year than Fitch. However, the author only looks upon the sales of last year to support his claim ,it may happen that in most other years Adams actually sold fewer properties than Fitch or perhaps sales volume is higher at Adams simply because it employs more agents, and each Adams agent actually sells fewer homes on average than each Fitch agent does.

The author points out that the average sale price of a house sold by Adams is greater than Fitch. However, this only states that Adams sells houses at a higher price than Fitch, it does not imply that Adams is more effective.For additional support,the author states that Fitch reality took longer than Adam’s to sell one of the author’s homes ten years earlier.Even so, this discrepancy can be explainable by a myriad of other factors like the changing economic conditions during that ten year period ,or the likeability of the two properties over the course of time.Without establishing that all the factors that affected the sales were same for both, the author cannot completely rely on his narrative provided to support his claim.

In conclusion, the author's evidence lends little credible support to his claim. To make his argument more persuasive, the author should provide clear evidence that Adam’s agent’s are more effective in selling houses than Fitch agents on an individual basis.The author must also provide information about the relative attractiveness of author’s two houses, and the extent to which real estate market changed during the decade.