An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Morals and ethics are factors that define every personality. Every person performs actions within the sphere of their own morality which defines good or bad.Every action has some consequences which are either good or bad depending upon the impact that they make.The author here is trying to say that a particular action should be declared as morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad , I agree with the author as most of the times if the end result is in our favour then we tend to neglect all the bad things which result in that journey.

Firstly,our actions or the actions suggested to us by others might seem a bit harsh at first but in retrospect can prove to be a boon rather than a bane.This action may not be in our favour but in a longer term this could prove fruitful .For instance, any professor who is strict about his subject can be very hard to cope up with. The professor being fastidious about details might harass the student about minor details,which might seem a pain to the student at first, but this approach might help him in his future as he would be organized and have a detailed knowledge about the subject.

Secondly,as it is righly said that “Ends justify the means”.The actions that a person does would be concluded as morally correct if they result in the greater good of the entire society rather than a single individual.As actions with selfish gains can be correct in ones perspective but would not be viewed as morally correct by people around the individual.

However, the action which results in our favour might not be so,when thought out in a more holistic approach.For instance, during wars the people of their respective countries fight for the pride of their country.During both the world wars ,millions of people participated in it and even though some countries won the war effectively but this resulted in the loss of thousands of lives which made their victory pyrrhic. Hence even though the end result was in the favour of a particular country it still had effects which where detrimental to the society in general.

In conclusion,I would like to say that since the morals and values of each individual are subject to change depending upon the situation they are in , it would be justified only if their end result is good or in their favour otherwise the individual will be coined as immoral.