Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action

The author claims that an actions is morally correct if there is higher amount of good results than the amount of bad results. The reason, the author gives behind the claim is that when morality of any action is assesed, the results of the action are more important that the intent of the person performing the action. I agree to the claim that if an action has higher amount of good results than the bad results it can be considered morally correct. However, this is not the case always. Also, the reasoning behind this claim is also not correct.

There have been cases where people fail to understand the long term result an action has. Bad results can be there for a certain amount of time but later, the amount of good results overshadow the initial bad results. However, this doesnot make the action morally correct. Morality is a subjective term and it varies for person to person or groups to groups. It becomes very important to know what morality stands for in general. I believe that morally correct actions are the actions that do not harm or hurt any individual's feelings and emotions and are meant for the good of the people and the society. Thus, if the actions result in good for the society even if it has some initial bad results, it can be considered morally correct.

However, I do not agree to the reason behind this claim. When we talk about morality, intention of a person becomes very important. A person might act in a way that is not appriciated by everyone initially, but later the benign intention behind the action makes his/ her actions justified. Let us take an example of a riot where two groups of people use violence to inorder to show their power. Their actions has lead to overall disturbance to the peace and has damaged life and property. In such cases, the actions are considered justified for a group of people while might prove to be morally incorrect for others. Similarly, having greater good results doesnot justify the bad results the actions has.

Thus, it becomes very important to understand the intention behind the action before claiming the results to be right or wrong. This is also a very subjective matter and should be thought upon unbiasedly. The idea of morality should be clear and the good or bad results must be for the entire society not just few individuals. Good intentions donot always justify any action having bad results.However this can be sometimes true. Thus, must understand the cases very throughly before stating an action morally correct or incorrect.