“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The editorial states that the money on the municipal garbage disposal fees can be saved if the residents are encouraged to recycle more.For this if an advertising campaign is implemented to encourage people, Mason town would be able to save more money on disposal of it's waste. There is also an example of a neighbouring town giver fo supporting the claim. This is indeed a very good idea not only by the economical point of view but also by the environmental point of view. However, inorder to ensure it's effectiveness it is necessary that we have clarity about many other criterias.

Firstly, certain comparisions between the two towns should be made inorder to ensure that the technique that worked for Hayesworth would work in the same manner for Masontown. Different towns might have different kinds of people living, different strategies and different outcomes.There must be clarifications about the population of both the towns, the amount and the kind of waste generated by both the towns. Also, what is the main source of waste in these towns. It is possible that the waste from pharma or manufacturing industries is higher than the waste from the households. Hence, such information is necessary.

Secondly, encouraging people through advertising campaigns may not gaurantee that the people will adopt the idea of recycling the waste. One must be aware of the ways in which paper and glass waste can be reused or recycled. Education regarding this can prove to be beneficial to the residents.

Other methods like providing incentives for recycling the household items can be provided to encourage recycling.Also. establising a business of the products made from recycling the materials, like decoratives pieces from broken glass, can help to improve the economy of the town.

Thus, even if the same stategy proved to be effective for the other town does not necessarily mean that it will be effective for masontown too. Rather, one must think of other alternatives that help to reduce the cost on disposal of waste.