Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

The author claims that increasing voilnce in the media can cause increase in violence in the society, especially among children. While on the other hand some believe that children's peers and parental role models have a greater influence on their behaiour. I believe that children's behaviour is greatly influenced from both their peers as well as what they watch.

Young children's mind adapts what they see. For instance, if a kid watches his/her parents drive for a several time, the next time he/she gets into the car, they try to hold the stearing wheel and imitates their parents. Similar theory is given by Piaget, known as the Piaget's theory, which says that children develop in the pysical environment.

Often we see young kids playing with a stick and suddenly they start hitting. We wonder where they might have seen this or who might have taught it to them.As a young mind,children are attracted by even the slighest possible thing.They have the ability to connect more to what they see. Hence, many times it is possible that they watch violent actions on any platform and repeat the same.

However, it is not completely true. Children's mind is also developed by the environment that he/she lives in. It is very important to provide a positive environment for a child's development. Another theory is suggested by Vygotsky, which suggests that children develop in the cultural environment. By cultural environment, it means the people around them, the languages and the traditions.For instance,a child learns to recite a hymn which is sung by his/her parents everyday or the words he/she uses in the same way their parents use.

Parents and parental figures also have a great influence on a child's behaviour. It is possible that constant arguments among the parents might create a negative impact on their minds and they tend to argue with their peers. Similarly, if given proper guidance and teaching, the violent acts on television might not affect a child's behaviour.

Increased violence in media can have a role in increasing violence i nthe society for not just kids, but many adults are also influenced by that. However, a child's behaviour is not completely dependent on what they observe but also by their peer group and parental models. Hence, both observation and cultural aspects play a major role in shaping a child's behaviour.