“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The newsletter advice claims that a comapany Techcorporation is their top pick for investment and urges people to invest in that company. The reason behind this stated in the article is that there are 8% of people who are dissatisfied with the current srvice provider and also that this company has been apprved by the FTA t compete with the current satellite provider. Thus people who invest in this new venture have a high chance of getting great profits. I feel that the article lacks certain clarities and the conclusion that one will be profitted or not can only be drawn after having certain clarities.

Firstly, who published the advice to the investors in the newsletter? If it is a nutral person who studies and analyzes that market regularly and publishes his/her views, it can be considered. But if this article is published by someone related to the Techcorporation itself, the credibility is doubted for there can be a bias. Similarly, what and which population was surveyed?

Secondly, what were the dissatifactions of the 80% of respondants? Is the new Techcorporation venture able to meet with those dissatisfactions? What is different to that of the current service provider that will help to fulfill the demands of people? Unless the Techcorporation has come up with a new and innovative technology, it cannot be confirmed that it will prove to be better than the current service provider.

Thirdly, the article states that it is for the first time in 10 years that a company has develpoped satellite technology that FTA has approved. How old it the current satellite company and how has the consumers response been over the years? If consumers over the years are happy with the service provided, there is a possibility that very few might want to switch to the new service provider.

Finally, there is a need to describe the ways in which the new service provider company, Techcorporation is different from the current service provider. Taking into account all the positive and negative impacts, it can be known that the Techcorporation is a safe company to invest or not.

Thus, unless all the above mentioned concerns are claified, one cannot draw a conclusion that investment in the new venture, Techcorporation, will surely turn out to be profitable to thse who invest in it.