“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The mayor suggest that inorder to solve the probelem of unemployment, they should encourage an automobile manufacturing company to build a plant in their area which would eventually help the unemployeed to get jobs. For this the mayor asks the City council to authorize a large campaign to attract the comapny and offer significant tax incentives to make their town attractive to the giant car manufacturing. It is indeed a good thought, however there are questions that still need to be addressed.

Firstly, what is the percentage of unemployement in the town? Is the same problem being faced by other towns of the states? If many other towns are feeling the same problem, it is a problem that needs to be addressed by the state as a whole raather than solve it as a problem for an individual town.

Secondly, for building an automobile manufacturing plant, many basic facilities like access to proper transportation system, electricity, residence etc is very important. It is inportant that that town has access to these facilities. Another concern is with the Hillview landfield which is underdeveloped for decades. What is the reason behind the underdevelopment? Also, are the people in the town qualified enough?

Thirdly, the mayor asks the city council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company. Large campaigns requires a great amount of funds. Hence the financial condition is also important. the passage states that Computech abandoned its national facility last year. It is possible that similar incident might happen with Autotech. If this happens, there is no permanent solution to this problem.

One of the suggestions can be the people in the town can start a small scale business by getting incentives from the government. The products like handicrafts,handloom products, food items etc.

Manufactuing plant can ofcourse lead to decrease in unemployement if the above mention concerns are mitigated.Hence, it is important to know about all the above mentioned aspects before autorizing this large campaign.