“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

The author of this argument is trying to promote recycling in Masontown which would further help them in saving money on disposal of its waste.To support this argument he takes an example of their neighbouring town of Hayesworth where recycling was implemented.To further support it he states that a law was passed in Hayesworth to increase recycling which inturn helped them in saving cost on disposal of garbage. Nevertheless, on closer scrutiny, it is seen that the argument provides scant evidence that can prove the validity of the recommendation made.

Firstly, a threshold assumption upon which the recommendation relies is that their neighbouring town of Hayesworth has implemented recycling techniques to save costs on disposal of garbage.This assumption is specious as it is quite likely that both these towns differ in various factors regarding their garbage disposal.It might be that Masontown does not produce recyclable waste as much as Hayesworth ,this weakens the authors assumption. The author should have provided us with evidence which states the similarities in the manner of garbage disposed in both these towns.

Secondly,the law which the author states that has helped Hayesworth in reducing disposal costs is unclear.The author should have provided us with statistical evidence which would have given us a clear picture of the “significant decrease” in disposal costs which the author is stating in his argument. Also it might happen that the citizens of Hayesworth where already disciplined and used to treat their garbage in a proper manner.Taking this into account their law would not make any significant difference to their disposal techniques.

Finally,the advertising campaign which the author is suggesting to encourage their citizens about recycling is spurious.Since it is not mentioned how effective this advertisement will turn out.Even if we consider that this advertisement will help in encouraging people towards recycling , it is still dubious as we do not know how many people will actually follow it . The claim that the author is making about saving money should have been illustrated further , as the author should have stated how much money will be approximately saved with the passage of this law which could create a significant impact on his argument.

In conclusion, I would say that, the author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons.To make his argument more persuasive the author should provide us with evidence stating the similarities of garbage disposal techniques in both towns.The author should also provide us with statistical evidence regarding the significant decrease in cost of garbage disposal. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.