There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

The author of this argument is trying to say that small towns have a better standard of living than big cities.To support this claim the author takes example of the two cities Leeville which is a small town and Masonton which is a big city.He states that workers in Leeville take fewer sick leaves than those in Masonton.To further support his claim he compares the proportion of physicians for both cities.To sum it up he states that the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents.The author's claim rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions ,and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly,the claim that Leeville workers report fewer sick leaves than Masonton does nothing to support the author argument.As it is quite likely that both towns differ in population .lt might be that even if the number of people taking sick leaves in Leeville is less but the ratio of both towns might turn out as same or even more.Since Masonton being a big city may contain large number of people but the ratio of people taking sick leaves is comparable or even less than Leeville.The author should provide us with evidence stating that population is both towns is comparable to strengthen his argument.

Secondly,the author mentions the proportion of physicians in both towns. The fact that Masonton has five times as high physicians than Leeville proves that it has better healthcare than Leeville.Since having less doctors in town does not mean that the town is healthier . This fact inturn proves that the healthcare in Leeville should be improved.

Finally, the fact that average age of Leeville residents is higher than that of Masonton residents is specious with respect to the argument. Since higher age does not translate to high life expectancy and healthier environment. It might be that the residents of Leeville town comprise mostly of retired individuals and senior citizens.The author should provide us with clear statistical evidence explaining the demographic of both towns as well as as data showcasing average age of life expectancy in both towns.

In conclusion, he author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons.To make his argument more persuasive , the author should have provided us with evidence of the comparing the number of people taking sick leaves in both towns.The author should also provide us with statistical evidence stating the demographic and the average life expectancy in both towns.Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidences or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.