"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company is asserting that their company should allocated a greater share of its budget next year to increase advertising which would inturn increase the number of viewers for their movies. He bases his assertion on the increased percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers ,albeit the number of people who attended the movies was less in the considered year. To further support his conclusion , the author states that since the reviews are positive it means that the quality of movie is good but it lacks public awareness which would be augmented if they increase advertising.The argument seems probable at first , but on closer scrutiny, it is seen that the argument provides scant evidence that can prove the validity of the recommendation made.

Firstly,the author states that the number of people watching Super Screen produced movies have plummeted.The author claims this on the basis of a certain report , nowhere does the author provide us with any statistics stating the exact amount of decrease indicating it to be a substantial one.Also the fact that the author mentions the word 'attended' states that he is claiming people visiting the theatres.The assumption is still dubious as nowadays movies have a better reach in OTT platforms like Netflix and Amazon as compared to a movie theater. The failure of author to provide us with a comprehensive understanding of the report weakens his argument.

Secondly, the major assumption on which the director bases his argument which is the increase in positive reviews of Super Screen movies during the past year.This assumption is incogent as it does not provide us with any information proving the authenticity of the reviewers who did review these movies. As these critics must be well established to create a significant difference in the minds of the common people. Also the percentage increase is not clearly stated by the author , as an increase should be substantial enough to create a difference. Since an increase could amount to a 1% 10% as well as 50% as absence of it would pose a threat to the argument thus weakening it inevitably.

Last but not the least,the author hastily concludes that the problem is not with the quality of movies but with the awareness of the movies.The author inherently assumes that their movies are good and people would watch them if they were aware of it.Having said that , even if that was true the author does not state the way he will create awareness or how impactful will the campaign be. As advertising campaigns are not cheaper and they would take a substantial amount of money from their budget.The director should have taken opinions of other people in the industry to better evaluate the quality aspect of their moving before concluding that the problem is with the awareness of the movie.

In sum, the author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons.To make his argument more persuasive the author should have provided us with a comprehensive study of the report which claimed the decrease in the amount of people . He should also have provided evidence stating the authenticity of the reviewers and the increase in percentage of reviews.Moreover, the author should cogently analyse the quality of the movie along with other aspects of it before attributing its decrease to lack of awareness.Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidences or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.