The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing is suggesting to reduce their employees work time by an hour to increase productivity.To support this suggestion, he takes evidence of the nearby Panoply Industries plant where the work shifts are one hour shorter than theirs.To further support he states that experts have said that a significant contributing factor in many on job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers.Hence , to increase their overall productivity the vice president concludes that they should reduce their three work shifts by one hour. This argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly,the threshold assumption that the author relies on where he compares his company with the nearby Panoply Industries is dubious.As both companies are different and may produce different things. The author should have provided us with enough evidence stating the similarities in both these industries.It is quite likely that Panoply industries does not have enough amount of infrastructure or the volubility of work which makes them work for a shorter time than Quiot Manufacturing.

Secondly,the claim that the author is making which states that experts say that significant contributions for on job accidents come from fatigue and sleep deprivation is spurious at best. The author fails to provide us with any reliable research study which supports the above stated claim. He should have included a statistical study which illustrates the fact that fatigue and sleep deprivation are the important factors causing on job accidents.The failure of the vice president to provide us with the above evidences weakens his argument.

Finally,the conclusion that the author is making that reducing the amount of shifts by an hour will give enough time for employees to sleep is specious.As reduction of work hour would mean that the employee has an extra free hour which does not guarantee that the employee will use to it sleep , it might happen that he would use this time for recreation purposes which would inturn cause him to be more sleep deprived than before.Also the second factor which the author states of fatigue can be due to various reasons like lack of eating or maybe that the employee is a bit unhealthy on that day , this would make the author’s argument less persuasive.

Therefore, in conclusion I would say that, the author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons. To make his argument more persuasive the author should have provided us with evidence stating the similarity of work in both companies . Also a reliable source providing statistical evidence stating that fatigue and sleep deprivation are important factors for on job accidents. Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidences or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.