We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure

The producer of the movie "Working title" is trying to pitch to the movie studio to increase their funding by 10 % which would in turn increase the quality of their overall product.He supports this claim by stating that the director is making a debut in this film and is likely to waste time on retakes based on the director past experience in advertising.He further supports his argument by saying that since they have hired some inexperienced assistant producers and directors , this would translate to giving more money for the actors and the unionized crew who work overtime.This argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly, the author makes an unfair assumption about the director who is making his debut. The author generalises that the advertisement industry is wasteful and expects that the director will do the same by taking many retakes.The author does not provide us with any evidence which states that the director also takes many retakes.It might happen that the director is indeed efficient is his work and might finish the project before the stipulated time.The author argument becomes weak since he does not provide us with the evidence that his director also takes many retakes.

Secondly,even if we assume that the director falls in the generalised community of advertising and takes a lot of retakes.It might be that the director is fastiduous about the details of his work which leads to many retakes , and this type of behaviour might inturn increase the overall quality of the film.Also the number of retakes depends on the competence and craft of the actors.If the actors deliver the scene as the director wants their is no reason for a retake.The author should not solely blame the director for the time which is "wasted" on the retakes.

Finally, the fact that the company has hired inexperienced assistant producers and directors to save money and this money would go to the actors and unionized crew is a spurious claim.The latency should not be attributed to the inexperienced people as it depends on the quality of product which they use.The set should have the required amount to supplement the needs of the product.It might happen that the film is being s

Therefore, in conclusion I would say that, the author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons. Had the author kept the above suggestions and points in mind, his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts, evidences or statistics. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.