Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Leaders are the ones with qualities to influence a great mass of people.Political leaders especially are the ones who run a nation and hence the stakes and the responsibilities are very high.Their decision decides the course of the nation , one good or bad decision can influence each and every individual of the nation.I agree to some extent with the author that any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little as those decisions would be taken on a much emotional rather than logical point of view.

Firstly, a leader is chosen among a millions of people to lead a certain country or a region.He/she must be firm in the decisions that they take,they should try and cater to the likes of majority of people of the country.Shifting their decision according to public opinion would be partial to the other people of the country.For instance, In a country like India where there are people from various religious communities living together.A leader which would take a decision in favour of the Hindu community might create dissent among other communities.

Secondly,a leader must select a team of experienced professional working for his cabinet.These are the people the leader should listen to, as these people have a rich experience in handling situations more efficiently.Common people think only about their own welfare while the leader has to cater to all the people living in his country.Common consensus should be reached as close as possible as every decision does not work in favour of all individuals all the time.The leader should try and mitigate the damage as much as possible.

However, in order to make a cogent analysis of a particular topic a leader must listen to the common people and address their problem. As most of the prominent leaders are away from most of the cities and are not fully aware of the circumstances of the general public.As media can sometimes be deceptive , hence in some cases to make a much more coherent decision the leader must take into account the likes of the common people. For instance, in rural parts of India , they are various villages which are not equipped with latest technologies and in places where these technologies are present they are not maintained as much .These villages also face a paucity of water and electricity . These problems cannot be understood unless the leader himself visits the villages and talks to the people residing in them.

In conclusion, any great leader will take into account the likes of common people but will take the decision based on his/her acumen. Any leader should not be easily influenced by everything the people say, as those people are not looking at the bigger picture which the leader has to address .Although in some cases , the point of view of the general public should be considered while taking a decision.