A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

In a recent memo to the head of the movie studio, movie producer concludes that extra money is required in order to produce quality product, otherwise, the movie will be a failure. However, the conclusion might hold water, it relies in several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, will significantly weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, the following information needs to be provided prior to analyze the viability of the argument.

Firstly, the producer assumes that first-time director cannot produce the quality movie and will cause more loss to the studio by taking many takes. For instance, it might be the case that the director is highly talented and can produce the high quality movies. Also, to make wrong judgement prior to his/her work is no good for the team and he should be optimistic rather than pessimistic. If any of the above has merit, then the argument is highly undermined; so, the work of the director needs to be carefully analyzed prior to any judgement.

Similarly, producer assumes that the it is more cheap to use the inexperienced director than using experienced one. He/she doesn't provide any evidences to corroborate his claim. For instance, it might be the case that unexperinced director will waste the time and the movie produced will not be as much quality that would have achieved by using the experienced director. If these is the case, then the argument as a whole is not strengthened.

Furthermore, what are the salary of the actors director and all other staffs involved in the movie? The producer wants to employ the unexperienced director and claims that it would be profitable to use unexperienced director but gives no evidence and information to substantiate it. For instance, it might be possible that using experienced director, more time could be saved; eventually saving alot of money associated with it. If this has any merit then the argument is significantly weakened.

In sum, the argument as a whole makes numerous unwarantted assumption and the evidence provided are inadequate; therefore aforementioned information in the form of systematic research needs to be povided before making any decision.