A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The argument concludes that increasing the budget for filming the movie will make the movie successful. The conclusion is merely based on the director's incapability to shoot due to lack of experience. The memo claims that the money saved by hiring an inexperienced director would result in greater expenses as they would have to pay for the overtime hours to the actors and the unionised crew.This memo fails to comprehend that the experience in advertisement could also be useful as well as that the director could be skilled enough to make the movie successful in one go .In addition, there could be several reasons which might result into paying for overtime hours.

First of all, the producer assumes that lack of experience of the directors and producers in the movie industry would result to greater expenditure as they would have to pay for the overtime hours to the actors and unionized crew. But this might not be the case. There are several reasons such as extra training that they would have received, a fresher perspective on how to make the shoot more efficient. They could implement ways to set up the scene before the arrival of the crew and actors such that they save time and cost. There might be scenarios where there is ready made sets and they just must directly shoot. There is a high possibility that the actors and the crew aren’t ready for the shoot yet, but the set is ready. Since he memo hasn’t ruled out these factors, one can not conclude there would be greater expense by paying overtime hours to the actors and the unionized crew.

Secondly, the memo assumes that the director’s experience in the advertisement field is waste and does not count. What if the director has undergone immense amount of training and has worked closely with famous directors? The advertisement and the movie industry might have some similarities which made him choose to work in this field. Moreover, the director could have done internships at other firms or worked part-time but might have not mentioned about it. The director might have great references and great reviews in this field from his other employers which could clearly weaken the movie producer’s argument.

However, the producer has not provided with any proofs or case studies which agrees with the arguments he has provided. One cannot draw any firm conclusions about director’s inexperience resulting into additional costs. They should look into any surveys or statistics of other movie industries if this has ever been a case. It is hard to believe with what the producer has to say as the recent case of Yamaha movie production firm stated otherwise. They had also hired a first-time director and they hit the box office record at one go. The producer could have used a different approach such as introducing a one week training program to train the freshers how the company policy works. Therefore, to conclude there could be other reasons responsible for the increase in the expenses.