A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10 in order to ensure a quality product As you know we are working with a first time director whose only previous

The author argues that there is need for an increase of 10% funding for the movie 'Working Title' to ensure quality. He cites several key factors in justifying this additional need, namely because of involvement of a first-time director, relatively inexperienced producers and assistant directors, who would spend more time in arranging things and this would lead to extra work hours for the unionized crew and actors resulting in an overall increase in expenditure. He further states that without this additional budget, the movie is assured to be a failure. However, the author inadvertently makes certain unwarranted assumptions which render his argument unpersuasive.

First, regarding the involvement of the first-time director, whose only previous experience is in shooting commercials for a shampoo company, he sounds presumptous in stating that the advertising business is notoriously wasteful and hence the director is likely to shoot take after take, without being concerned about the priority of the scenes. However, no substantial evidence is there which supports such a presumption. Even if it is assumed that the advertising industry is notoriously wasteful, it might so happen that the director, having learnt the nuances between short commercial shoots and long movies during his coursework, is well adept in prioritising scenes on the basis of the movie's storyline. Even, if the director is more inclined towards the practices of the advertising industry, it might also be that he is a very punctual person and strictly adheres to the shoot timelines. In either case the author's assumption does not hold water

Second, the author presumes that the relatively inexperienced assistants would take more time to arrange things. However, these inexperienced assistants might be young. They might turn out to be enthusiastic and active in their dealings than more experienced people. They might take on their duties ebulliently and much more efficiently through new approaches and tools. Hiring relatively inexperienced assistants does not necessarily mean that they are inefficient compared to more experienced folk. While experience necessarily brings wisdom in dealing with things, it also brings along with it with orthodoxities - experienced people are more inclined to take on the traditional approach than look for efficient and faster methods to bring about results.

Furthermore, the authors believes that the costs saved due to hiring of inexperienced assistants would be counteracted by the rising costs of unionized crew and actors who would have to spend more time on the set waiting for the assistants to arrange things. However, no comparison of the expenditures on the assistants, crew members or the actors as such is presented by the author to make such an argument. It might so happen that even though the actors and unionized crew has to do overtime, their contracts suggest a fixed amount per day and not on an hourly basis. Under such a scenario, there would not be any substantial increase in expenditures arising out of delays due to the inexperienced assistants. Moreover, how this extra money ensures the movie's success is not really apparent from the author's argument. A movie's success depends on a lot of parameters such as audience approval, box-office collection, a strong storyline among others. It might that the extra budget allows the movie to be successfully produced but it still might be a failure. Also, even if such funding compensates the additional costs, how does it ensure quality of the movie is not exactly clear from the memo.

In conclusion, it might be possible that the 10% increase in the funding for the movie 'Working Title' is an absolute necessity for a successful production. However, as it stands now, the author's argument stands unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. More evidence is needed to ascertain how the involvement of a first-time director, inexperienced assistants would inevitably lead to increase costs due to overtime work of unionized crew and actors.