People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterward are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People may argue that the involvement of emotions in making decisions is a foolish thing to do as it could create a fog that conceals logic from participating in decision making. Emotions can mislead us from our knowledge which we have accumulated over the years from all the experience and studying we have done over the years. When we tend to get emotional, it might seem that, or emotion is all that matters in this world. While it is true that we should not always let emotion overshadow our judgment to the point that we defy logic, the involvement of emotion in decision making is actually an important part of making a good decision.

When we make decisions that are not actually logically justified and are based on our emotions alone, we are likely to make poor decisions. We may make decisions that are emotionally biased and later justify them with manipulated facts. For instance, consider we are hiring a computer engineer for a company, out of the two final candidates that have been narrowed down in recruitment process: one a seemingly excellent candidate for the job, with all the impressive alma matters, impressive work experience and profound knowledge in aspects such as programming and networking, and the other with a decent academic background, little experience and expertise, definitely a less capable candidate, but our close relative. In this situation, if we hire the later candidate and justify by saying that the first candidate was too perfect and would eventually leave (an excuse), just because we have empathy for the person we know, we are making a mistake.

However, this is not always the case. If we decide based on emotion but can justify it with proper logical reasoning, out decision might not be a poor one. After all, it has a proper logical reason behind it, and in addition to that, it is also emotionally fulfilling. This could, in fact, be a decision, that is even better than a one made just based on logical evidence.

Moreover, provided that the decision is logically sound, involving emotion in the decision can actually be the better thing to do. Emotions are what separates us, human beings, from other creatures of the world. We have humanity: emotions such as kindness, compassion, which forms the basis for our ethics. Consider a scenario where a village in a valley, surrounded by hills from all sided is suffering from drought, and there is no water anywhere in the valley, so people now have to start digging the hills to get water from a pond that lies on the other side of hills. In such a situation if you are the only one who can sell digging equipment, and people are willing to pay any price as if their lives depend on it, what would be the better thing to do? To charge them with unreasonable prices and loot them all you want? or to show compassion over dying people and sell shovels at a reasonable price? Is it justifiable that a decision is well thought but morally wrong? Well obviously, considering your emotions and considering for people is the better thing to do.

Therefore, even though we should not let emotions cloud our judgments, involving them in our decision-making process.