"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What are the essential circumstances for developing an exemplary leader? Should the leader be raised in a collaborative environment, where everyone understands each other and gets along well? Or should leaders have an atmosphere which produces a sense of competition among other people, who is a perfectionist, never letting anyone else surpass their level of excellence? Many people have diverse opinions regarding that concern. Some argue that a leader has to be competitive. After all, competition stimulates the desire to become more competent than everyone else which eventually makes a leader the best one. However, leaders make decisions which influence a vast majority of people and thus should possess a sense of cooperation and the will to act considerate to everyone- not the sense of rivalry where one frequently has to answer the question: How can I be superior compared to the rest.

Instilling the attitude of competition does further intensify the leadership characteristics of an individual in a nation. A leader should be a capable person who possesses a variety of competencies. To develop such abilities, juveniles require a source of motivation to be dedicated to acquiring unique ideas and also in acquiring a diverse range of required competencies. A sense of competition serves as this source of inspiration for tomorrow's leaders. Moreover, a competitive environment also boosts up the pace of development of an individual. For instance, a child in 6th grade might be content after learning the entire curriculum of 6th grade. But if the child has a competitor, who has also already learned the whole syllabus, the child will become dedicated to learning the curriculum of yet another higher class. In this way, a sense of competition can benefit from prompting leaders to advance their abilities rapidly.

However, leaders need to be more than skilled and knowledgeable in order to become the greatest leaders. An outstanding characteristic of a leader is to possess a decent understanding of the requirement of the people the leader is supervising. And understanding such specific demands can be accomplished through a spirit of cooperation rather than opposition. Demands of every society being directed might be distinctive and care completely understood through cooperation. Moreover, only when a leader has a sense of collaboration, the leader will remain empathetic towards the people and become qualified to implement actions that benefit the entire society. A leader without the understanding of people does not recognize the best approach to govern the community. For instance, in the famous children's animated cinema- "The Lion King", even though Scar, the wicked lion who achieves the status of the King by murdering his own brother, is more competent as a fighter and becomes the emperor of lions, he doesn't understand the need of cooperation ( which is portrayed as a requirement for balanced ecosystem in the cinema) and displays the quality of a defective leader. With a sense of competition and attainment of supremacy alone, leaders cannot become excellent when they don't have a collaborative style of leadership.

Consequently, while a sense of competition might contribute to the provision of an incentive for improvement, communities should further concentrate on fostering the spirit of cooperation among budding leaders. After all, ideal leaders are not just characters who focus on making themselves superior in comparison to the rest. Leaders are those people who elevate the entire community to a distinguished level along with themselves.