"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."-Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

The statement indicates that the cooperation is the most potential quality for leaders in government, industry and other fields, and the competition is less important. Cooperation, which means the ability to connect the teammates and bound the strength of both to endeavor, is indeed pivotal in modern life, as it can help to finish a task more effectively, while the competition also is not the meaningless. And my points of view following will explicate.

Admittedly the cooperation is an indispensable capacity for a leader. Under the condition that the leader know how to cooperate his teammates, no matter what field he works in, he can more easily succeed. The Confucius, an famous ideologist in ancient China, was he one who definitely knew how to unite his students and followers. His students, who admired Confucius's virtue and erudition, wrote a book together to record their teacher's dictums. And when we look at the modern world, there are also abounded leaders who cooperated their employees and workmates. Like the Bill Gates, who built a colossal empire, the "Microsoft", in software field. He didn't fight alone but to cooperate with his workmates Alan, and then recruited other workmates. They endeavored together with the lead of Bill, and finally made a miracle. All above illustrate that the cooperation is obviously the essential capacity to leaders, no matter in ancient or modern, no matter what field you work for.

However, we cannot ignore the importance of competition in leadership. Not only the leaders need to have the sense of competition of other teams, but they should instill that sense to their employees to galvanize their vigor. Competition always bring good things. The competition between the Soviet and the United States acceded the progress of human's exploration of outer space. The competition between the Apple and the Samsung brought us the intellectual mobiles. The competition of universities help us to enjoy the best and the most advanced education. All those is the leaders of the governments, industries and universities possessing a sense of competition, and trying their best to win in every competition. Thus, we could not abandon the ability to competition and just embrace an undiscriminated cooperation.

Whereas the competition always bring good consequences, sometimes it also bring the drawbacks to our customs when the leaders are too willing to win and ignore the regulation. The food safety used to be a topic at the consequence of some merchants competed in false way. And the global warming, the hottest topic of environment, was also because of too much of competition that pushed the industry emission more carbon dioxide to the atmosphere. Hence, when it comes to competition, it needs the leaders to identify the correct ways to join in competition.

In sum, the cooperation in leadership is essential, while the competition is also conductive too. And a good leader needs combines the two together, meanwhile discriminates the correct ways of competition and cooperation, and he have more possibilities to become successful.