Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the past time to the present, parents are always the strong backing and supporting of the children, and when our young people feel dejected and directionless, we would go back home and find the help from parents. is this really helpful for young people to depend on parents? Admitedd that the parents could help us in some extents, however, I believe we need to become more independent. And, little by little, in today, the young people could more realize their own awareness and make decision by their own lives.

In the past, the youth might have to depend on their parents, because they have liitle strength to obtain information of the outside. In the ancient time, when the techniques of transporation and communication did not appear, the young people could only rely on their parents and the local friends to mold their views of the world. they had little chance to leave their hometown to another places for their own life. In contrast, what they could do was to listen the dictation of the parents to find a proper job.

However, as the technology developed, young people have more chance to get in touch with the world. For instance, on the internet, the young people could communicate with the people of the same age around the world, to exchange their opinions and know more knowledge about the world outside their hometown. what's more, the techniques also offer the youth more job opportunities. they can e-mail to the employers or just call the employers directly to gain the jobs by their own. The world, the universe, is open to them and waits for them to explore. The youth is definitely inclined to get rid of the control from parents and to pursue their own lives.

From my perspective, I believe it is a good trend for the young people making decisions about their own lives. Everyone is a solitary individual and even the parents cannot replace them to make decisions. And less depending on parents helps the young people to find more beauty in their lives-they can learn what they are curious; eat what appear them, and marry to the one who they truly love.

All in all, I support the statement that the young people today are better able to make decisions by their own than those in the past. this transition is brought by the development and globalization, and I believe it will be beneficial for the youth.