We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

The statement asserts that people are always learning more from those whose idea are in accord with them, while the discord always pose detrimental effects towards the learning progress. I concede that the undue disagreement may cause stress and inhibit learning, however, listen to the contradicting view and discussed it with those dissidents will provide the controversial topic with more knowledge and a broader spectrum of perspective.

People always prefers to communicate with those who have similar ideas, as it’s easier to understand each other without persuading the different points toilsomely. It is understandable that the people are more willing to listen the advice from those with akin views. If one had loved classical music and dreamed to become a pianist, he would look for the help and advice of the masters in his area. Additionally, the same or analogous views form others will give people more confidence to stick on what they are endeavoring. This supports and acclaims may induce them to make more progress.

However, only listening to praises will have some deteriorated aspects, one of which is that people would ignore their drawbacks and disregard any critics. Khrushchev, one of presidents of the Soviet Union, was the one who was surrounded by accolade and heard little dissent voice. This tribute misled him about the situation of the nation that time and made him a false decision. A president, when listening only to those who share the views, will make mistake, let alone our pedestrians. And if one wants to avoid such mistakes, he should listen to more contradictory voices.

Different views will bring different prospective around a topic, which combining of can bring a more comprehensive understanding. Sometimes we can only look at one side of a problem, and if we don’t communicate with those who have distinctive views, we may ignore other equally important aspects of the problem. Debating, which is a popular activity around both universities and companies, is always set on two side of a topic which a team choose one of and defend. By defence of own opinion and communication of other’s team, the audience and the speakers can capture more knowledge about the topic. And in most cases, there are not merely one right answer, and listening to others who have contradictory opinions will help to broaden horizon.

In sum, I must acknowledge that we can learn a lot from those who share the views with us, while we can also learn equally abundance of knowledge from those who have distinctive views with us. The world is colorful and multidimensional, and listening to different opinions may accede the pace of understanding the world with an all-encompassed spectrum.