Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The statement indicates that the educational institutions have to discourage the students from studying in fields that they are unlikely to succeed. Those fields, where students are seldom succeeded, sometimes are too impenetrable for everyone to research on, or so dependent on talents that some untalented students are almost impossible to make progress. To some extent, I agree with the statement that the educational institutions have the responsibility to advice the students to choose the fields they study more carefully, while I believe it’s not proper for those institutions to make decisions for students regardless students’ interest and ideals.

Admittedly, the educational institutions should provide guidance to students on their choice of future academics, and it’s also their duty to give more information of the fields their interested in, some of which are unprofitable and need long-term effort, in other words, are unlikely to succeed. The institutions, providing more information of the fields that students may not consider before, might help them to make more suitable choice and decrease the unavailing trail.

However, the institutions indeed have the responsibility to recommend, but they cannot substitute the role of students themselves to make the decision. The fields students choose are not just for the short-term profit or for the end of success, but for endeavoring to realize their dreams. Regardless the situation of the students and chasing for the fields with high possibility of success, the institutions may betrayed the well intention and counterductively be harmful for students. Edison, one of the greatest inventors of the world, was derided and misunderstood by contemporaries and received seldom supports, but after his perseverance on electric inventing, the light bulb came to us. Consider that if the institution that time dictated him to abandon the “unlikely succeeded” field, then we may live in a dark world today in the night. Some fields, which seem impossible in today, can create miracles tomorrow. Hence, please do not say impossible to students. With a generation of students’ innovation and insistence, the unlikely things will become likely.

In sum, the statement may come form a well-intentioned recommendation, but it seems unfeasible, because there is no absolutely unlikely field which lots of researchers are trying their best to make it likely. It is the responsibility of the institutions to provide more information to students and push them to make their own choice to decide whether to face the challenges or not