Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The statement indicates that the woven baskets were not unique in palea, as the baskets were also found in another ancient village, the Lithos, across the brim river from palea. It cites that the river between the two village is deep and broad so that the ancients could not cross it without boats which were not found the ramnants. Carefully consider its evidences, the assumptions it makes seem illogic and incredible.

First, it falsely assumes that the river would remain the same deep and broad forever. It's perhaps that the river was just a shallow ditch in the past where the ancients could get across it by foots, or the river didn't exsit in that time and was revoluted gradually after a long period. There are lots of alternatives that can explain that the people that time didn't need the boat to get to the other village. Thus, the baskets maybe bring by the merchants for sell to the Lithos, or bring as a gift to this village.

And another suspect evidence it propose is that the boats were not found now, and it indicates that there were no boat in the past. Obviously the reasoning is incorrect. The fact that There were no boat remnant in recent days, may just comes from the decadence of the wood of the boats. The conclusion that people cannot swift between the two village by boats is so untenable that it also cannot conclude that the baskets were not unique.

In sum, the argument that the Palean baskets were not only made by palean is not convincing enough because the evidences it cites cannot support its point of view. To get a more inclusive and authentic consequece, it needs to rule out all the alternatives mentioned above.