Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every student will have a long process in understanding an abstruse idea or concepts, and at this moment, the teachers always give a large number of examples, or facts, to help them remember. What is the really important part for students-- the concepts or the facts themselves? In my opinion, learning the facts is the foremost and most imperative parts of studying.

First, the world is composed by facts, and the ideas or concepts are both from the facts. From ancient time to now, every great philosophy was come from thoroughly observing of the nature. As the time passes, the solid experiments had become a necessity for scientists to prove his concepts were correct. One of the greatest scientists, Edison, was a circumspect men who could always catch the facts happened in nature, such as an apple falling down from the tree, and could infer from the facts to an immoral concepts.

Second, the facts, which can be directly seen by students, are more understandable and sensible. By doing physical experiments, the students can get their own data, and summarize the data into a concepts, which can be more memorable than just read the textbooks and learn mechanically. And in addition, when we were kids, we often felt curious about the world: what is the sun and what is the moon; why the sky is blue and the flowers are colorful? If the parents just told us to just remember the concepts and do not notice the facts of the nature, we children would be upset. The process of reasoning plays a positive effect to growth of kids.

Lastly, the most use of the concepts and ideas is to predict more facts that will happen in future. There is no absolutely right concept in the world, and most of the concepts were modified more than once to match the facts. And why our human being needs the concepts is that we are curious about the future and hope to infer the tomorrow by the knowledge of today. and the facts in future will certify the concepts to be right or not.

All in all, I believe the facts is more important for students, and by understanding and observing more facts, the scholars will conclude a stronger and solider idea and concept.