Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Learning in undeniably a crucial thing in human life. A controversial argument that is often raised regarding this topic is whether to understanding concepts or learning facts. If I were obliged to choose, I would think that understanding ideas and concepts is more important than learning facts for a number of reasons. On a few of which I will elaborate subsequently.

To begin with, I believe that understanding concepts will help students to be more creative. when they know the whole concept, they think about it and they can develop their own ideas about the topic. I believe my opinion is partially influenced by my personal experience. I remember when I been in a lecture and the lecturer spoke about some concepts in computer science. That lecture really inspired me and later I wrote my own paper about those concepts.

Secondly, I think it's better if students do more research than studying. If students just learn facts in classes, then all they do will be studying those facts for exams. I think researching can help students to learn better, when they get familiar with an idea or a concept, they do research to get more knowledge about that. For instance, I know someone who researches a lot, he has very good knowledge about various things and I think it is so good. It is now undoubtedly clear that understanding ideas and concepts is good.

I resist the temptation to explain more, hoping there is enough information already. To sum it up as the reasons suggest, it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Because not only it helps them to be more creative, but also it helps them to get more knowledge about things by researching. So students should attempt to understanding ideas and concepts.