The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

The vice president of Sartorian is trying to bring back the alpaca overcoats which were discontinued for five years in order to increase profits of their company.To support this he states that the company now has a new fabric supplier which would provide them with high quality of fibre.He further states that since there is no major competition in the market for alpaca overcoats their venture would yield profitable results and the overcoats would sell at a significantly higher price than they would five years ago. The argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions and therefore is unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly,the author claims that the new supplier of fabric would be reliable in providing higher quality wool .This claim is not supported by any evidence. As the author states that their earlier supplier was not reliable in providing quality wool fabric , hence he should not blatantly trust the new supplier and start their production.Even if the new supplier is reliable he should have provided us with relevant evidence comparing the previous and current supplier illustrating that the new one provides better quality of fabric.

Secondly,the assumption that the vice president is making that the coat would sell very well since they have not offered alpaca overcoat in five years is specious.Since it is plausible that people’s taste and trends in clothing have changed in the past five years and they do not find these overcoats as trendy as before.Also the fact that author mentions that there is no major competition for production of alpaca overcoats does little to support his argument.As it provides us with evidence that people are no longer interested in these overcoats because if they were then other companies would also have thought of producing them.

Finally,the author bases the profits of alpaca overcoats over the assumption that the price of clothing has increased in five years and customers should pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats is dubious.As the vice president does not provide us with any details concerning the price of the overcoats it is quite possible that the overcoats similar to the alpaca ones are cheaper and hence people would not be keen towards buying the new alpaca coats.Also the increase in prices of clothes does not translate to the fact that people will spend more to buy them.The increase in prices could be due to a myriad of factors like change in economic conditions, inflation, increase in the prices of raw materials .These factors should be considered by the vice president before hastily assuming that alpaca overcoats would be profitable.

In conclusion, I would like to say that the author’s argument is filled with logical flaws and incogent reasons.To make his argument more persuasive he should have provided us with enough evidence indicating the reliability of the new supplier.The author should analyse the market more comprehensively before starting the production of alpaca overcoats which are not being sold for five years.The author should also provide us with a detailed analogy illustrating the relationship between increase in prices of clothes and its connection to the alpaca overcoats.Had the author kept the above suggestions in mind his argument would have been bolstered much better with valid facts ,evidences or statistics.The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.