The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian a company that manufactures men s clothing Five years ago at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric we discontinued production of

This memo from the new vice president of Sartorian recommends resuming production of their alpaca overcoats, based on the claims that they have a new fabric supplier, that their major competitor is no longer selling such coats, and that it will increase profits. These claims have no substantial evidence to support the recommendation of resuming production of the alpaca overcoats. There are gaps to the claims that need to be answered and will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, why did Sartorian change its fabric supplier? If they were to resume producing alpaca overcoats with this new fabric supplier, will they be able to guarantee that the quality would be the same or even better than their previous supplier. Another question that the vice president should investigate is why did Sartorian have difficulties obtaining reliable supply of high quality wool fabric five years ago.

Next, in the event that Sartorian does resume production of alpaca overcoats, it would be premature to assume that profits would increase because customers will be willing to pay premium prices for it. The vice president should look into carrying out surveys on whether or not consumers want alpaca overcoats to be back in their stores, and if they would be willing to pay higher prices for them. If they data from the surveys show that indeed customers want the purchase alpaca coats and are willing to pay premium prices, then the recommendation of resuming production and selling at high prices would be sound.

Lastly, the vice president failed to show data on the purchasing trend of alpaca overcoats over the last five years. Has consumption of alpaca overcoats increased or decreased over the past five years? If there had been a downward trend, it would not be feasible for Sartorian to resume production as it would probably not sell. Moreover, Sartorian’s major competitor had stopped making alpaca overcoats, there should be an underlying reason for this. It may be due to animal rights activities that shun the production and selling of alpaca overcoats. In such a case, it would be socially irresponsible for Sartorian to resume production and it would also ruin their image where eventually customers might not want to patronise Sartorian anymore.

To sum, it is premature of the vice president to recommend resuming production of alpaca overcoats because there is lack of support to the claims stated in the memo. Further investigation of wool quality from their new supplier, a survey to find out customers’ needs and wants, and understanding the trend of consumption of alpaca coats over the last five years would need to be conducted. Only then will the vice president be able to make a rationale and reasonable recommendation of whether or not to resume production of alpaca overcoats.