The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto MovieTheater Despite its downtown location the Rialto Movie Theater a local institution for five decades must make big changes or close its doors forever It shou

At first glance, the business plan of Rialto Movie Theatre to offer the same features as Apex Theatre seems viable, however there are gaps in the claims made in this memo. There are questions to the claims made by the author and they will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, if Rialto were to offer the same features as Apex by adding in a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and state-of-the-art sound system, it would not automatically mean that moviegoers will choose Rialto over Apex. If both theatres offer the same features, what boils down would be the price of a movie ticket. For instance, if Rialto currently offers cheaper tickets but does not have the advanced features Apex does, it could be that moviegoers don’t mind paying a premium price for better comfort during a movie. As the author of this memo did not state pricing of tickets at either Rialto or Apex, it is premature to conclude that having same features as a competitor would result in more moviegoers going to Rialto than to Apex.

Another piece of evidence the author failed to state is what is the current data of moviegoers that patronise either Rialto or Apex. Does Apex have more moviegoers than Rialto? Additionally, what kind of movies do both theatres screen? Does Apex screen more recent movies than Rialto does? As the author of the memo had given data that 85% of respondents don’t see newly release movies more than five times a year because of pricey tickets. Such crucial data could help contribute to the author’s reasoning as to why Rialto should follow Apex and have the same features.

Lastly, the 85% of respondents that reported not wanting to pay high prices for newly released films does not explain how Rialto will gain more moviegoers if they offer the same features as Apex. In this day and age where technology is so advanced, one can watch a movie online at the comfort of their own home. Moreover, when purchasing a movie online, they will be able to stream movies as many times as they like. Whereas at a movie theatre, moviegoers will only be able to watch the movie once, and if they would like to do so again they would need to purchase another ticket. One avenue Rialto can look at is to offer movie deals online. This way, they will have both on location, and online customers.

To sum, the business development plan issued by the manager of Rialto will not be able to have its predicted results. This is because of the claims made that are not supported with evidence, and Rialto might end up spending even more money and not being able to earn a profit or breakeven.