The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health related products Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in ar

The claims made by the vice president of Health Naturally that ultimately recommends it opens a new store in Plainsville lacks evidence to support their recommendation. On the whole, it lacks evidence to support the claims and these will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the author of the memo stated that they experience higher profits at stores in areas where residents are more concerned with leading healthy lives. They go on to report that merchants in Plainsville have all-time-high sales on running shoes and exercise equipment. However, this data is incomplete. Further investigation on who are buying these equipment and what they are using it for is more crucial than how many items are being purchased. Could it be residents of Plainsville are purchasing such items as gifts? Or are they purchasing it for themselves?

Next, citing evidence that weight-training and aerobics classes are always full is inadequate. Here, it lacks data on how big classes are. Could it be that classes only allow up to 5 people per session? If this is so, an aerobics class can be filled up very quickly, as such the health club can report that classes are fully booked all the time.

Moving on, the memo states that school children are required to participate in a Fitness for Life program. However, this does guarantee that these children will continue such a lifestyle after they graduate. Moreover, there isn’t any data to show what percentage of children attend school. It could be that 90% of children in Plainsville do not attend school and are home-schooled. Therefore, they are not required to participate in this fitness program. As such, this piece of evidence is inadequate to support the recommendation to open up a new store.

Lastly, the memo mainly talks about exercising, but it does not mention any data on healthy eating. As Health Naturally sells health food, the vice president should cite some data on healthy eating of residents in Plainsville. If data show that residents are conscious about eating healthy and respond positively to having such a store in their town, this will be able to strengthen the vice president’s recommendation of opening a store in Plainsville.

To sum, the vice president of Health Naturally should consider conducting surveys to collect appropriate data and then further investigate if opening a new store in Plainsville will be profitable for the company.