The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a memorandum, the vice president of Health Naturally, a chain of stores selling health food and products recommended that they should build one of their new branches in Plainsville. This conclusion is based on many reasons including higher level of sale of equipment related to health, the increase of the members in local health club and more children at school participating in health program. However, before this recommendation is properly evaluated, three problems should be elucidated.

First of all, the higher level of sales of shoes and exercise equipment does not mean that new branches can gain success in Plainsville. The main reason is that vogue of these products depends on many factors such as the interest of customers, different seasons, and influence from public figures. These factors are unpredictable, thus they can put the company in danger if they open the new store based on these data. Therefore, if this reason has merit, the conclusion drawn in the original argument can be significantly hampered.

Secondly, it is quite difficult to infer the success of the company because of more members participating in local health club and the full attendance in weight-training and aerobics classes. The number of health clubs is limited, then there is less choice for people to go in for these class, while the number of people having their preference related to health activities is likely to be still low. If the above is true, the do not hold water.

Finally, there is no reason why the author can extrapolate the next generation of customers which are schoolchildren because they are required to join in a program called Fitness for Life. In fact, a majority of customers of stores selling products related to health are adults or the elderly, while the number of children at school is not significantly. therefore, it is difficult to warrant the success of the business based on mandatory participation of children in the health program. These reasons can damage substantially the credibility of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumption. If the author can resolve these problems and offer more evidence, it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to open more branches in Plainsville.