The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework whereas in the district of Marlee most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no

The author of this prompt suggests that the students who are given less homework assignments get better grades than students who are given daily homework assignments, therefore teachers in their highschool should assign homework no more than twice a week. There are gaps in the evidence given by the author, thus it is premature to make such conclusions.

For example, the prompt states that many teachers in Sanlee and most teachers in Marlee had taken the survery and the author extrapolated the data. The question here is why were not all the math and science teachers surveyed? There could be discrepancies between teachers in the Sanlee district and between teacher in the Marlee district. The teachers in Sanlee who took the survey, could be the only teachers who hand out daily homework assignments. There could be other teachers in Sanlee that do not give out daily homework and only do so two or three times a week. In the same vein, Marlee teachers surveyed could have been the only teachers who handed out homework two or three times a week. Whereas the rest of the teachers in Marlee gave out homework daily. Without further evidence to support this claim about teachers giving out homework, the author cannot simply conclude that giving less homework would produce in better results.

Next, the ratio of students to teachers could be disproportionate when comparing both school districts. For instance, in a Sanlee class there could be 40 students to one teacher, whereas in Marlee there could be 10 students to one teacher. Therefore, there is an imbalance in the student-teacher ratio. Following this example, a teacher could find it very difficult to teacher 40 students at the same time, therefore students may struggle to compete with each other for their teacher’s time. On the other hand, the 10 students in a Marlee class could easily be allocated time for one-on-one study sessions with the teacher. Furthermore, a Marlee student who particularly struggles with specific questions will be able to get more time with their teacher. Sanlee students might not be able to find the time to ask their teacher for help because the teacher is busy with other students. Therefore, such students might give up and not seek help, therefore causing their grades to drop. This could attribute to the disparity between the grades of Sanlee and Marlee students.

Lastly, it could be the policy of the school in the different districts that require teachers to either give out daily homework, or only twice or thrice a week. As such, Sanlee teachers are obligated to handout daily homework. But, because of their heavy workload, they might not have sufficient time to go through their student’s homework properly and human error in marking might come into play. On the other hand, Marlee teachers do not have hand out daily homework, therefore have ample time to thoroughly go through students work and provide feedback to them. Such disparity in time management might be key to why students in Marlee have better grades than Sanlee students.

With these questions and examples at hand, the author’s claims are not substantial enough to conclude that giving students less homework will result in better grades.