A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years We have always advertised our use of the Endure proc

At first glance, the claims given by the author of the memo seems plausible, however closer inspection reveals that evidence is not sufficient enough to support the recommendation.

Firstly, data from the study of Dura-Socks customers on purchasing socks every three months is not adequate enough to explain if the Endure process is taking up more of the company’s resources. The study does not indicate what kind of socks these customers purchased. Could it be the surveyed customers had been purchasing socks that were not manufactured by the Endure process? Finding out such information is important to ensure that the company does not prematurely conclude that their Endure process if not profitable.

Next, the claim that northeasten cities may be Dura-Socks largest market does not mean that this market is the most profitable. It could be other cities are more profitable than the northeastern cities. Moreover, consumers from different cities can have different tastes in the types of socks they want or need. By terminating a manufacturing process without finding out

Furthermore, the customer surveyed only reported that they most value the stylish appearance and availability of colours of socks, however it failed to report if they do in fact purchase only stylish and coloured socks. As such, these claims given by the author is not adequate to assume that discontinuing the Endure process will increase their profits. If the vice president had shown data that consumers in their northeastern cities purchase more stylish and coloured socks that are not manufacture by the Endure process, would help them in their recommendation.

To sum, it is premature of the vice president to make the recommendation of discontinuing their Endure process as the claims of customers purchase new socks every three months and that they most value style and colours lack in evidence to support it. Further investigation on current claims are needed.