The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten year budget for the city of Calatrava The birthrate in our city is declining in fact last year s birthrate was only one half that of five years ago Thus the number of students enroll

This recommendation to reduce funding in education, athletic fields, and recreational facilities is based on the declining birthrates and the expected population increase of adults in Calatrava. These claims, however, lack adequate evidence to support its recommendation.

Although birthrate data can be used to predict number of future students that will be enrolled in public schools, it is not the only measure. Families from out of town could move to the city of Calatrava and have kids of school-going age, therefore increasing the number of students enrolled in the school. Furthermore, there is no way of predicting if birthrates in Calatrava will continue to decline or even increase in the next decade. Therefore, it is premature of the committee to assume that the number of students will continue to decrease other the next 10 years. Moreover, their recommendation to reduce funding for the next decade can have severe consequences as public schools in ten years might not be adequately equipped as it was before funding was cut.

Next, the author of the memo also recommends reducing funds for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. Are they implying that students in public schools are the only users of these facilities? If so, stating this is the memo with evidence to back it up can strengthen their argument, however it might only work in the short-term. This is because, as stated before, they are unable to predict the number of students that will enrol in the next ten years. However, if these athletic and recreational facilities are not only used by students, but also member of the public, it would then be more helpful if they were to increase funding for these facilities. This would help proper regular maintenance these areas for student and public use.

Moving on, the claim made in the memo is that they expect the adult population of the city to increase is baseless and unfounded. There is no statistical evidence showing the number of expected adults in Calatrava. Thus, it is careless to recommend pumping in more money to fund facilities and programs primarily used by adults. If the author is able to produce proper and significant data showing that indeed the adult population in Calatrava is expected to increase, this will in turn strengthen their argument.

To conclude, the arguments made by the author of the memo lacks in evidence to support their recommendation. Further evidence regarding expected rates birth in the next 10 years, ways to measure the number of students expected to enrol in schools, and statistical data on expected adult population, are needed in other to fully evaluate if the recommendation is fitting.