The effectiveness of a country s leaders is best measured by examining the well being of that country s citizens Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position

This claim states that the effectiveness of a country’s leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of its citizens, is something that I agree to, however I do not believe that this is the best measure. It is possible that when combined with other measures, the country will then be able to analyse whether its leaders are effective or not.

When examining the well-being of a country’s citizens, an array of topics come into play. For example, are its citizens earning enough? Is there readily available and affordable healthcare, education, and housing? Are the citizens generally happy? It is a generalisation that countries with small income gap between the rich and poor, and developed countries. That these countries have adequate healthcare services, good schools that provide top notch education, and that housing is readily available and affordable, especially for low-income families. Finland, for example, has been rated as the world’s happiest country. It has world-class facilities in healthcare, research, and education. Their country’s policies, set up by their leaders in government, has allowed for Finnish people to enjoy benefits such as free education even in university. Although they get to enjoy low-costing healthcare services, there has to be a trade-off, in this case it is higher taxes. However, the Finnish people still remain happy, and as such this measure of their well-being has resulted from effectiveness of their leaders.

Another measure that can help to indicate the effectiveness of a country’s leaders is how it’s foreign affairs leader make successful deals with other countries. These include trade deals that countries all over the world consistently negotiate on. As a way to measure the effectiveness, comparisons of the current foreign affair minister with past ministers can be analysed. However, such analysis has to be made reasonably, such as having same economic conditions – for example, how did trade deals fair during recessional and non-recessional periods? Economic growth, if any, can be a good indicator of whether or not there is leadership effectiveness.

Another measure is to see if the government’s party has any opposition party that citizens are keen on voting into government. This can be another indicator of whether or not the citizens are showing if they feel their leaders are effective. If there is an opposition party that has policies in which citizens agree with but the current government does not, this could show just how effective the current leaders are in knowing the needs and wants of their citizens. It is, however, always a double-edged sword when it comes to trying to please citizens and doing what is best for the country.

To sum, I do believe that measuring citizen’s well-being can help to indicate a country’s leadership effectiveness, but it may not be the best way. I believe it takes an array of measures that come together that will better indicate if a country’s leadership is effective or not.