An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author of this argument is trying to promote a new variety of millet which is high in vitamin A.To support his argument he states that the international development organization has come up with a new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A.To further support it he states that the farmers will be paid subsidies for growing the new variety of millets due to its high cost.He further points out that millet being a staple food in Tagus will inherently help in adopting the new kind of millet.To sum it up the author states that the government of Tagus should do everything to promote this new breed of millet. Nevertheless, on closer scrutiny, it is seen that the argument provides scant evidence that can prove the validity of the recommendation made.

Firstly,the author states that the new millet is high in vitamin A. The author provides us with no evidence which states the percentage of vitamin A in that millet.The term used by the author as “high” is subjective, to further support it the author should have provided us a comparison with the earlier type of millet which would have proven that the new breed was high in vitamin A.The failure of the author to provide us with some substantiated evidence weakens the argument.

Secondly,the fact that the millet costs more dampens the argument.Having said that the government will provide subsidies to the farmers for the growth of the new breed , the author does not state that how much will the government subsidize the farmer.The amount of subsidy provided by the government is not clearly stated since it is quite possible that the government will provide a certain percentage of subsidy for the growth of the new millet.The fact that the millet is costly could also mean that its market price will be higher than the existing ones.The author fails to provide us with cogent instructions regarding the subsidization of the farmer and further market comparison of the new breed of millet.

Finally, the assumption that the author is making that since millet is already a staple food of Tagus, people will readily adopt it is specious at best.Since the new breed of millet might differ in taste and as suggested above their might be a significant price difference between the new and the existing breed of millets , the people might not readily shift to this new breed of millet.Hence the dubious assumption of the author about the adoption of new breed of millet without considering all factors makes the argument weaker.

In conclusion, the author's argument is filled with flaws and incomplete and incogent reasons. To make his argument more persuasive the author should have provided us with some evidence stating the proportion of vitamin A in the new breed.The author should also clearly state the amount of subsidy that the government will provide to the farmers .He should also provide us with detailed information about the various factors of the new millet concerning its taste and price. The argument would be more convincing and well-reasoned if the author had provided us with the above stated suggestions.