Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Political leaders have the entrusted responsibility to lead the populace in accordance with some basic principles and objectives in the best interest of the citizens. Yielding to public opinion and abandoning those principles would amount to the abdication of this responsibility. Indeed, the most essential quality of any leader is to be committed to certain principles and objectives though with due consideration of others’ opinions.

The proposition that a leader can only be effective if he/she yields to public opinion is specious. While, a yielding leader may be effective in avoiding strife in public for short time, his ultimate effectiveness is always evaluated based on his ability to persuade his followers to embrace certain principles and ideas. A fair reflection on history would prove this point. For example, during the British colonial rule in India, there was a national outrage and call for militant agitation against the British for independence. Mahatma Gandhi had his own way of non-violent movement called ‘Satyagraha’ which than gradually resounded with masses and proved effective in purging the colonists. Had he succumbed to the public pressure for aggressive approach, he would not have been able to attract such huge international attention and acclaim. Also, it would have given the British Government a rationale for militarily suppressing the movement which could have resulted in huge carnage. Even despot like Adolf Hitler, by remaining committed to the Nazi goals, was effective in persuading Germans the virtues of exterminating the Jewish population contrary to their human conscience.

Secondly, a leader is shaped by some principles, values and beliefs. A vacillating head gradually loses credibility in public; and is perceived as immorally avaricious for power and authority. Outright rejection of presidential candidates, e.g. Matt Romney, with ‘flip-flop’ attitude on important matters is a good example. Thirdly, general public is unaware or ambivalent about many crucial issues. Complete reliance on their opinion for functioning may reduce government’s effectiveness. Finally, a large section of them is also influenced by the wrong notions of the day, no matter how unethical they may seem to a rational and pondering mind. A leader succumbing to such public consensus, can never bring a long lasting change for the good of the people. For example, during Lincoln’s revolution, a majority of the people believed that blacks are morally and psychologically inferior to white men and hence, slavery is their natural state. However, Lincoln, with firm belief in his principles and ethics, persevered for his cause and effectively convinced people of monetary and human gain of abolishing slavery; which made him virtually immortal in the annals of American history.

Some people may argue that democracy entails co-operation and active participation of people in policy making and governance. An adamant attitude on the part of political leaders would lead to dictatorship and monarchy. However, that right of active participation is best practiced when people get to vote their representative to the parliament. Then, they have it in their hands to elect leaders who believe in principles and objectives that are in their best interest. Moreover, in democracy, provision of ‘plebiscite’ and ‘referendum’ for matters which significantly affect people, e.g. Brexit, are also an insurance policy against the probability of autocratic government decisions.

In conclusion, political leaders must remain committed to the guiding principles and objectives of a nation’s democracy. Succumbing to public opinion for every trivial matter would result in inefficiency and also ‘populism’. However, simultaneously, they must be considerate of people’s opinion before formulating policies and taking decisions which have a direct bearing on their lives.