As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Knowledge can be defined as facts, information and skills acquired through education and experience. The statement poses a question whether acquisition of knowledge makes things more comprehensible or complex and mysterious? A cerebral pondering on some recent advances in our scientific knowledge would reveal that knowledge yield all the three results at the same time. This paradoxical result of knowledge acquisition can be aptly explained and illustrated by some examples of modern scientific discoveries in the following paragraphs.

Consider, for example, the human knowledge on sonar system used by blind bats to navigate and especially to seek out their prey. Researchers have learnt that this system is startlingly complex. By emitting audible sounds and processing returning echoes, bats in nanosecond can not only locate their moving prey but can also determine its size, speed, direction and even specie. This knowledge acquired, if it qualifies as such, helps us to understand the mechanism through which bats navigate and survive. Yet, it also points out the incredible complexity of auditory and brain functions of certain animals, even of mere humans, and creates a sense of wonder and mystery about how such systems ever evolved mechanically.

Or consider the case of our present knowledge of the universe. Advances in telescopes and space-exploration, on one hand, corroborate the theory of a continually expanding universe that began at the very beginning of time with a ‘big-bang’. This knowledge, on one hand, tells humans about their place in the universe and their ultimate destiny. On the other hand, adds another chapter to the mystery about what existed even before time and the universe.

Another glaring example is the human knowledge on atomic physics. Naked eyes can perceive very little of the complexity of matter. To our distant ancestors the physical world appeared simple – seemingly comprehensible by sight or touch. Then advancement in scientific knowledge revealed that all matter are comprised of atoms, which are further comprised of smaller particles called electrons, protons and neutrons. Then humans discovered that these sub-atomic particles are further made up of a basic unit called quarks. And now recently, a new so-called ‘string’ theory posits the existence of an even more fundamental and universal particle of matter. This shows how each scientific discovery, on one side, rendered the understanding of matter more comprehensible by explaining and reconciling the empirical observations of how matter behaves. In fact, string theory, which is theoretically sound, also reconciles the discrepancies between quantum and wave theories of physics. On the other side, each discovery has in turn revealed that matter is more complex compared to what has been thought previously. The string theory also talks about the existence of seven dimensions – in addition to the three already known - hard-pressing one to imagine anything more complex and mysterious.

In conclusion, the statement overlooks the paradoxical nature of knowledge acquired, at least, when it comes to understanding physical world. When through knowledge a thing more comprehensible and explainable to us, at the same time, we realize that it is complex and mysterious contrary to what have been perceived previously.