The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Indeed, the world has witnessed an unprecedented technological advancement in the last century. The statement makes two claims. Firstly, that the main purpose of this technological progress must be to increase people’s efficiency; and secondly, that through this increased in efficiency people can afford more leisure. Both the claims, while true to some extent, cannot be substantiated in their entirety. While one of the aims of technological growth has been to increase the work efficiency of people, it’s not the sole purpose. Moreover, enhanced work efficiency not always results in more leisure.

Admittedly, technology reduces human efforts, increases the pace of people’s work and hence efficiency. This in turn provides more leisure. For example, progress in means of transportation save hours and even days in travelling. Or the advent of computers have drastically reduced the time required to do a plethora of tasks which were before extremely time consuming. The time so saved can indeed be utilized by people for leisure. For instance, before the rise of Google, assignments meant days of intense search in libraries and other knowledge resources for students. Now, online lectures, journal articles, encyclopedia, etc. can all be browsed on a laptop or smart phone. The saved time thus is used by many students for recreational activities available and intellectual pursuits. Similarly, by buying vegetables and groceries online, using glucometer to measure blood sugar instead of visiting pathology labs and so on helps elderly save ample time to spend for leisure activities. However, increased efficiency doesn’t always necessarily convert into leisure for everyone.

While, it is true that taking proper rest and leisure help increase work efficiency, the vice versa is not always true. The efficiency provided by technological progress has also placed greater demands on workers. Employers and client now ask for better productivity instead of allowing their employees to avail leisure. Working holidays, enhanced pay for extra time, employee logs, better connectivity, etc. have made sure that employees are available all the time. The increase in average work hours per week in US from 40 to 60 in last 50 years is enough to corroborate this fact. Furthermore, technological advancement has coincided with the increase in population and hence competition for survival. For homemakers, mixer grinders, washing machines, rice makers and myriad house appliances have greatly reduced the time required to complete daily chores. However, in many developing countries, women use this time for part-time earning by engaging in menial jobs like tailoring, toy making, etc.

The statement is also fallible in its assertion that primary goal of technological advancement is to increase people’s efficiency. Technology aims to serve humanity in different ways. It aims to unravel mysteries on nature by installation of large hadron collider at CERN, Switzerland. Multibillion research projects for clean water speak about technology’s role in fulfilling the most fundamental need of humans ‘water’. Technological research for renewable energy aims to tackle global climate change which threatens the future of the planet. The reprioritization of numerous international research groups across multiple disciplines towards finding a vaccine for COVID-19 virus during the current pandemic highlights the purpose of technological advancement for our very survival. Thus, contrary to the statement the role of technology should be much wider than merely increasing people’s efficiency.

In conclusion, technology indeed helps in increasing work efficiency of people thus providing free time to some groups. However, this increased efficiency not always translates into leisure for everyone due to higher demands for productivity and competition. Moreover, beyond increasing people’s efficiency, the role of technological advancement must be the general welfare of humanity and the planet.