Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

A leader can be defined as the person who motivates his/her followers to achieve a common goal whether social, political or institutional. A leader must have some essential qualities such as competence, experience, integrity and ambitions to be successful. Indeed, meeting the demands of their followers mould these qualities in an individual and makes him their leader. However, the legacy of his leadership is only defined by his ability to lead and guide his followers in the process of meeting those demands and afterwards.

The statement holds merit due to the fact that history is replete with examples of great leaders born when there was a dire demand for certain political or social rights from the people. For example, during industrial revolution in the early 20th century, every country was trying to increase its productivity at cost of inhuman working hours and conditions for the labours. Then the demand for labour rights resulted in labour unions and hence, created labour leaders. Similarly, the demand for human rights in the face of discrimination and inequality in South Africa created Nelson Mandela. After every economic crisis, exacerbated by gross inflation, poor living standards, bad healthcare, sub-standard education, when there is an election people elect political representatives or leaders whom they expect to meet their demands.

Some may argue that leaders are also created by the system of a country or an institution. For example, in a monarchical state, the state head is decided by his/her lineage. However, one must note that there is a difference in public perception of a head and a leader. While the former have people working for him/her, the latter have people following him/her. For instance, England has been ruled over a millennia by different monarchs, yet the legacy of Queen Elizabeth I’s leadership stand out from the rest not because of her lineage, rather due to her ability bring about much demanded religious, political and military reforms. Similarly, in a corporate organization or technical institution, the head is chosen based on the credentials and qualities of the candidate, however, he or she is only perceived as a leader after meeting the goals and demands of the organization.

Still, one must note that the legacy of a leader is not established by merely meeting populist demands but rather through his ability to guide and lead his followers in the most effective way. For example, during the British colonial rule in India, there was a national outrage and demand for independence. This demand gave Mahatma Gandhi an opportunity to rise to the occasion. However, the popular sentiment was for militant agitation against the British for independence, while Mahatma Gandhi had his own way of non-violent movement called ‘Satyagraha’ which then, through his ability to convince and guide the masses, gradually resounded with the public and proved effective in purging the colonists. On the other hand, Mohammed Ali Jinnah also fulfilled the demand of his followers for a new state but with much human carnage. Had Gandhi merely focussed on the ‘end’ of meeting the public demands rather than the means to achieve it like Jinnah, his name would not have immortalized in the annals of history.

In conclusion, demands certainly create leaders, but their leadership can only be sustained by their ability to lead their people in the best way while meeting those demands as well as afterwards, rather than just toadying up to the ever changing irrational demands of their followers to just stay in power.