Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

For an individual a valuable asset is something that benefits him tangibly or intellectually. Imagination is the ability of mind to form ideas, image and concept of the object not present to the senses. Experience on the other hand, is to undergo through various circumstances and observations. The statement contends that sometime imagination can prove to be a more valuable asset than experience because people lacking experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes. While the statement is true that imagination can prove to be more useful in certain circumstances, one must not go too far in overstating its importance with respect to experience.

Admittedly, when individuals are let free to imagine without the constraints of established principles and norms, they can do wonders. Many historical accomplishments are testament to this fact. Genghiz Khan’s army commander Subutai’s feat of conquering thirty two nations and winning sixty five pitched battles can be a glaring example to illustrate how valuable imagination can be. Using his sheer imaginative force he devised unthinkable military strategy of coordinating large chunk of Mongolian armies hundreds of miles apart without any communication to converge at decisive moments and surprise the enemy forces. Till 800 years this strategy remained relevant and was employed by the Soviet army in the World War II.

Additionally, there are certain professions where imagination has precedence over other skills such as theoretical physics, music, literature, etc. What does one need to postulate the great theory of relativity? Surprisingly, a pencil, a piece of paper and most importantly young Einstein’s imagination- which knew no boundaries - were the requisites. Similarly, in literature, Shakespeare’s magnum opuses were a product of his creativity. Or, in music, imagination played the key role for many composers who enjoyed instant success with their vey first albums.

However, in many instances, experience reaps its own benefits. It trains individuals to keep their calm in panic situations. For example, an experience pilot would be in a better position to veer off the flight when in danger. Or an experienced football team is more likely to hold its nerve in the dying moments of a championship final. Moreover, as the adage goes ‘every man becomes wise after it’s late’, experience teaches to learn from past mistakes. It was experience from the destruction of world wars that prompted world leaders to establish UN and sign Geneva conventions. On the contrary, Hitler’s reckless imagination of ‘Aryan supremacy’ proved catastrophic for Germany as well as the whole world.

More often than not, it is the combination of imagination and experience that proves to be the most valuable asset for humans. For instance, in any team whether business or sports, while young members bring creativity to the table, the more experienced ones can balance the approach to minimize the risks. Myriad scientific and historical achievements also bear witness to this fact. While Da Vinci’s imagination gave birth to the smiling and appealing Mona Lisa, it was his experience as an artist that executed that idea on canvas. Similarly, while Edison imagined about lightening the world, it was his experience from trials and errors that revealed him tungsten to be the final piece of his puzzle.

In conclusion, while the statement is correct in asserting that in many instances and professions, imagination proves to be more valuable than experience, however it is not always true. Experience benefits in own ways and cannot be underestimated as such. Finally, in most of the times, it is the combination of experience and imagination that has served as the most valuable asset to the mankind.